The Special Olympics Minnesota golf program is centered on two educational phases designed to encompass all skill levels: learning to swing a golf club and learning to play the game.

Special Olympics Minnesota currently offers three levels of golf competition: Individual Skills competition, 3-hole competition and 9-hole competition. In order for athletes to advance to 9-hole competitions, they must achieve a total of 40 points in a sanctioned Individual Skills event. Athletes who score less than 40 have the opportunity to compete in 3-hole competitions.

In addition to traditional events, athletes can participate in Unified Sports team play. Unified Sports is a program that assigns Special Olympics Minnesota athletes and athletes without intellectual disabilities (Unified partners) to the same teams for training and competition. In Unified golf, teams consist of one Special Olympics Minnesota athlete and one Unified partner, and the team plays in the Unified Team Play competition event and alternate shots.



3-hole Individual Stroke Play Competition
9-hole Individual Stroke Play Competition
3-hole Unified Team Play Competition (Alternate Shot)
9-hole Unified Team Play Competition (Alternate Shot)

Individual Skills
Short Putt
Long Putt
Chip Shot
Pitch Shot
Iron Shot
Wood Shot